Body Image: Media vs Mind

This video illustrates the effect media has on how we view our bodies. Whether you are male or female, there is a least one “unsatisfactory” part of your body – one thing you wish you could one day change or have changed.

PonderSometimes we are unsatisfied with a particular aspect of your body because of what we see through the lenses of the media. What makes “them” the expert on what is beautiful? Ultimately, the only expert on your beauty should be the person you see when you look in the mirror. Embrace who you are – flaws and all, and never forget that you were beautifully and wonderfully created for this moment in time.

ReflectWrite a 2-3 sentence comment sharing what feelings/thoughts you have about this video. How did it affect you? (Comments must be in complete sentences and posted by 11:59 p.m. on 10/29/13 to receive credit)

37 thoughts on “Body Image: Media vs Mind

  1. I think it’s a weird video. I really don’t have an opinion about this video because, I don’t think like the people in this video think. But I th

  2. Growing up as an obese teen my child hood was very rough. At a max I weighted 320 pounds and it was as if my body wasn’t developing like other teens. It made me very insecure about even being around other females. Compared to males not developing as fast as others I understand.

  3. Having spent my childhood and teen years frighteningly thin (115 lbs) I was used to being compared to the guys who at puberty started getting broad shouldered and sprouting muscles, it was pretty discouraging. While serving in the Army I got up to 160 lbs and started working with free weights and discovered that I could change my body. I was able to get up to 180 lbs with six per cent body fat. This was a great ego boost for the “runt of the litter”. The success was almost in vain as I was stricken with hyper thyroidism in 2008 which at one point had my weight back at 105 to 115 pounds. Fortunately I finally found a competent Doctor who diagnosed and treated the problem. The strange thing is even though I had lost a signifigant amount of weight I obviously did not see what others saw when I looked in the mirror. I knew that I was not gaining weight like I should when working out and taking supplements but I didn’t think I looked as unhealthy as others thought I did. Happily today I range between 160 and 165 finally content and slowly graying pounds.

Your Thoughts! (Post a Comment Here)